I HAVE SEEN YOUR WIDOW’S OFFERING

Luke 21:1-4 As he looked up, Jesus saw the rich putting their gifts into the temple treasury. He also saw a POOR WIDOW put in two VERY SMALL COPPER COINS. ‘I tell you THE TRUTH,” he said “this poor widow has put MORE THAN ALL THE OTHERS. All these people gave their gifts out of their wealth; but she OUT OF HER POVERTY put in all she had to live on.”

It is just but a little over 6 months since I started this blog. This morning, as my hands were busy doing the dishes, my mind was also busy wandering here and there. How I had managed to keep up with the pace of posting is only by the GRACE OF GOD. And yes, partly because of a blogger friend, Elaine Davenport, who stood by me…urging me on. A month or so before I started this blog, someone I had thought of as a friend suddenly turned their back on me and my family….and caused us much harm. If she had stopped there, maybe it would have been different. But no, she took it upon herself…to cause damage on relationships I had established with others…whom she had come to know through my friendship with her. And after all the pain and heartache she had caused, I forgave her….and moved on.

But…I was not the same person. Then again, two weeks later, after I ventured into the blogging world, another painful blow happened to me. But this time, even though it was as painful as the first one, I refused to be shaken. No…I had nothing except CHRIST to hold on to! And each day, despite the battle within…I kept writing. I kept giving….more than I had. I kept going…believing, hoping against hope. Some days, I had wings, but most, my hands felt feeble and weak. I never stopped. I don’t know why, but I kept going!

Then this morning….I had the Lord whisper into my heart, “I HAVE SEEN YOUR WIDOW’S OFFERING.” Friends, these last six months, I have given OUT OF MY POVERTY. My ALL. I have nothing left. If Jesus has seen my offering…then I need to leave the rest into His hands.

Maybe, that’s you? Your gift seems too little, almost invisible among the grand offerings of others. But...JESUS IS LOOKING…If He cared enough to look at my offering, He also is looking at your offering.

Be encouraged; Keep going; Keep bringing your offering because it is of more value to Him.

22 thoughts on “I HAVE SEEN YOUR WIDOW’S OFFERING

  1. Dearest Gladwell, thank you for your kind words. Thank you for never being ashamed to tell how much you Love God and for showing it. Thank you for the fine expressions of your faith that you share day in and out without fail. I eagerly look for them…and if I am ever missing in action…it means there is some snare…some distraction that WILL be overcome…we serve a good God. I am happy to be back on the scene. We have a Big Prayer Pow Wow coming up…I will keep you and all of your readers lifted as well as your web site! Love u2 Lanie

    • Laine,

      Thank you for standing with us in PRAYER…and your love and support from the beginning. The Lord has seen your labor of love! Need I say more…. He has good things in STORE FOR YOU. The best is yet to come!

      Love,

      Gladwell

  2. Gladwell,
    Thank you for helping me see my service to God in a new and wonderful light. Recently I have found that spending time with God is more real and meaningful than ever before and it is a result of the time I spend serving God. What a fruit and my joy is eternal in His awesome presence.
    Blessings,
    Vineet

  3. My dear sweet kind friend…I too Thank God for you and your friendship! lol…I am still trying to figure out how God allowed us to meet since I rarely read other Bloggers sites…and almost never return if I do.

    But, when I read your posts…your words were of God and your anointed words refreshed me and I am sure many others.

    Joel Osteen whom I adore says: you are a vessel of hope, I am too…we bloggers who write for God…we ALL are!

    It’s your time…as Brother Joel says…Gladwell…I’ll be praying…Love Your Friend…Lanie

    • Elaine,

      Thank you my friend. The tears in my eyes…can tell a story. You come into my life at the right time….YES, YOU WERE A GODSEND and I have treasured each of your wonderful encouragement and prayers as I go along. There is still much to be down…in our secret chambers and out there in our every day realities and circumstances. I hope you are doing well too?

      Love and hugs,

      Gladwell

  4. Gladwell, I don’t know if I ever told you this before. I believe God allowed our paths to cross. I love the way you write and can tell that you are drawing from a deep well… but it is your humility, honesty, and transparency that helps you tap into this well, the very heart of God.

    I find that we share so many thoughts and insights in common, though we have not really talked much to each other, or even met.

    Be encouraged, dear friend. Your widow’s offering will result in much — to the praise and glory of God.

    I myself am a recent widow…and I know what it means to live now alone, and without the security of having a good husband to lean on… but this helps me draw closer to God. He alone is my strength, defender, and provider.

    With much love
    Lidj

    • Lidj,

      Thank you! I value your words of encouragement especially coming from you…because you have experienced firsthand what it means to be a widow…and God’s heart is for the widow and orphan. I realize now that even though there were times…I felt as if I was alone or insignificant….Jesus was standing at the side watching in approval. He doesn’t expect us to give more or what we don’t have. But what I had…I gave without a moment of hesitation. He is faithful in all that He does…for me and you and all those who fully commit their ways to Him.

      God bless you and hugs,

      Gladwell

  5. Hi Gladwell, the aim of distractions is to keep us off focus but with Gods help even though things may seem rough, we can remain faithful in what He has called us to do. Well done and God bless.

  6. Oh friend, I hear you…

    I’ve been on the receiving end of cruel rejection and bitter lament, and I wish I could say that forgiveness has come quickly, but it hasn’t. I also know what it is to write out of poverty of soul and spirit. It’s hard to live our lives “outloud” and in front of the world via our pens, but I’ve found it to be rewarding. Why? Because every now and again, someone like you comes along and resonates with my “offering” and I know that God was in the obedience all along.

    I wish I could do more for you on a tangible level, be closer to draw you in and encourage your spirit; I suppose this crazy, cross-connectional way of corresponding will have to suffice for now. Please know that I am praying for you and your family in this season as you transition to a new home/place. Even as I pack away a few boxes, I’ll think of my sister across the ocean who is doing the same thing!

    Faith moves forward, friend. Always forward. Don’t look back. Look ahead. Your best days are ahead of you! Of that I am certain.

    peace~elaine

  7. Dear Gladwell, I think that is what makes your posts so compelling, so beautiful, though not all of us knew it. They were given out of your poverty and pain. God sees you and loves you and is doing something beautiful through you. You bless me . . .love in Him, deb

  8. Gladwell, Praise be to God that He has seen your widow’s offering. This post brought to my mind this verse:

    “Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18.

    I love the middle verse of this passage. It reminds me that compared to the glory I will have in the presence of my God one day my current troubles are “light and momentary.”

    I am so blessed that you have continued to give your widow’s offering because I have learned a lot from your posts and am amazed each day by how much I can have in common with a fellow believer who is almost on the other side of the world. Peace, Linda

  9. Gladwell,
    You have lifted me up so many times with your words of encouragement. All of us who write together here have been broken and broken again to be molded into what God wants us to be. The pain you went through, that made you different, that was God sharpening your sword of faith.
    You do His will, you further His kingdom. We all read your blogs daily, but you don’t know how many people who were searching for an answer to the void in their heart who may have stumbled onto your blog, read what they needed to hear and followed Christ, all because you left a widows offering for them to read. God Bless you Sister
    Jim

    • Jim, Linda and Deb…THANK YOU ALL very much for the words of encouragement to me as well. I am also learning a lot through your writings too.

      God bless you…and may your weekend be blessed and fulfilled.

      Gladwell

  10. “All of writing is a huge lake. There are great rivers that feed the lake, like Tolstoy or Dostoyevsky. And then there are mere trickles, like Jean Rhys. All that matters is feeding the lake. I don’t matter. The lake matters. You must keep feeding the lake.”
    — Jean Rhys

    This quote has been a great encouragement to me as I wade through blogging. I like to think of God as the lake. It doesn’t matter if you are a stream or a river, just keep on serving Him and working in His kingdom. Keep on course, hang on to Jesus, and continue to bless people with your words as long as He tells you to. In Him,

    Eden

  11. Gladwell,

    Your words brought tears into my eyes…My sister..I can understand what you said about ‘Giving out of my ALL’. It had been difficult for me too…All those long days, sleepless nights, all that pain that you went through so that God could teach you a lesson to share it with others…everything..out of poverty…But its all worth it Gladwell…for just that answer…’I have seen your offering’

    Your words have been a blessing to me my dear…All your efforts are recorded..

    God Bless,
    Rani

    • Oh…Rani,

      You’ve made me cry…again! Thank you…I know a bit of what you have encountered…and I guess that’s why we are here. To share, edify and encourage each other in Him.

      Blessings,

      Gladwell

Leave a Reply

