FIGHT FOR THE LOVE YOU CAN KEEP

Psalm 46:4-5 There is a river whose streams MAKES GLAD the city of God, the holy place where the Most High dwells. God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day.

Two years ago, the bathroom in our rented house went under a major renovation. Of course, while the renovation was underway, our lives for one month were also turned upside down. But…at last, after waiting albeit impatiently, the revolution in our bathroom was more than our expectation. In exchange for black wall tiles and a PVC floor, now we had white stained wall and floor tiles and yes, in place of the shower, we got a bathtub. YES, A BEAUTIFUL BATHTUB. To crown it all, my husband bought us sweet scented candles and bathtub herbs to go with the newness of our bathroom!

Then the day came for me to test our new bathtub. With the tub filled almost to the brim, I jumped into the water and covered myself under the foams as my eyes closed into a relaxed manner. The dim lighting from the candles with its sweet smell fragrance made everything look even more perfect. As I lay there, without a care in the world, I heard these words as clear as noonday. ‘YOU WILL NEVER BE HAPPIER THAN YOU ARE RIGHT NOW.’ Suddenly, my eyes popped opened, a little stranded at what I heard because I knew why the Lord had put those words in my heart.

You see, because we live in a rented house, my attitude was, if only this was my bathtub…in my own house? I was enjoying my bath, but there was a part of me that wanted more than what I had. I was happy….but I wanted to be happy based on what I possessed. The bathtub bath gave me pleasure, but I thought it I owned the tub…then I would be happier. Right there and then, God corrected my attitude. HAPPINESS IS NOT BASED ON WHAT ONE IS AIMING FOR, but rather…finding joy in the place where one is at a given time. In the same way, the Lord reminded me, that I can only fight for the LOVE I CAN KEEP.

And so…I have learned, to fight for the love of my wonderful husband; to fight for the love of my lovely daughter; to fight for the lovely for my mother; to fight for the love of family and friends; to fight and only to fight for the LOVE I CAN KEEP. With or without a bathtub, my life is and will be as happy and lovely as it is. With or without a house of my own, my family is and will always be the most important earthly possession that I will always fight to keep.

I don’t know about you. But do you have things you are fighting to keep, yet…deep down you know without them you will still be as happy? Are you trying to fight for something that you cannot keep? Or if you keep, it will be at your own loss?

I have good news for you. THERE IS A RIVER… the source of true happiness, and love and peace.
I have better news for you. THERE IS A CITY… the place where the Most High dwells…the source of hope, security and redemption.

Go…to that river, abide in that city…and you will always be happy…and you will find the LOVE YOU CAN KEEP for good.

14 thoughts on “FIGHT FOR THE LOVE YOU CAN KEEP

  1. Hi Gladwell! I have to tell you that at first…I did not get your message…but I left the site…went and did some things…watched a movie…came back and read it again and I get it LOUD and CLEAR!!! Thank you so much…I WILL FIGHT FOR THE LOVE I CAN KEEP. I AM ALSO THANKFUL TO KNOW IT AND TO BE ABLE TO DO IT!!!

    Thanks for a powerful reminder. Love Lanie!

    • Elaine,

      I am glad the Lord spoke to you loud and clear.

      And now these three remains; faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. 1 Corinthians 13:13 That verse speaks to me volumes. Love is the only thing we can KEEP in this life…and for eternity!

      God bless you.

      Gladwell

  2. Gladwell,
    As I continue to dwell on God, meet him at the cross, meditate on His word and look at life through His eyes, I find that we are so far from the understanding God and the little glimpses we see are so amazing that we believe we understand. Like you, even I tend to long for things like my own ‘bathtub’ and when we finally get it feel a sense of elation but that doesn’t last because our desire is for the next, and the next and all of it is like wind in our hands. When we keep seeking God with the same passion and serve Him with our all, that joy is lifelong and perfect. Thank you for being a spokesperson for the Lord to me and thank you for sharing His wisdom in such a simple and wonderful way.
    Blessings,
    Vineet

    • Vineet,

      Thank you, my brother. I know I am not alone…and that this message was not only meant for me but for many out there. I am glad that God used my example to speak into your circumstances. Yes, we need and ought to remain steadfast to the message of the cross…with or without the comforts which life can give.

      You are blessed!

      Gladwell

  3. Gladwell,

    Beautiful…really beautiful. All Glory and Honor to Him..I love the way He speaks to each one of us…its so different right? The language He uses and the way He conveys…and the words He produce through us is also quite different…One of my friends read your blog and we were talking the other day how different and unique are our style of writing and that makes it really interesting….

    Today, what you wrote will remain in my heart for many days…Because its always worth going after the true LOVE…which will remain with us forever…which will bring happiness like no other…Thank you once again for leading us to that river…
    God Bless,
    Rani

    • Rani,

      Yes, all Glory and Honor goes back to Him. He gives us…yet in giving of Himself to us, He increases. I agree with you, God talks to us all very differently according to the grace and faith at our disposal, but the most important thing is we are all doing the work to build the one body, that is, the body of Christ to come into unity and completion. Thank you for your words of honesty and sincere encouragement. You have been a blessing to me as well.

      Love,

      Gladwell

  4. Gladwell,
    This message is great, it is not what we OWN that makes us happy. Here is a thought, do we really own anything? Everyone I know who owns still pays the mortgage, which is not unlike rent. I don’t feel any of us own anything, we don’t own the land, homes, not anything, because when we die, it will all be sold off and the money dispersed. We are ALL renters.
    God Bless
    Jim

    • Jim,

      Thank you…for that wonderful thought. Indeed, we are all RENTERS, not only of things but of TIME. We have no guarantee of tomorrow because time is not our own…and neither even the breath in our mouth. So, today we ought to find joy in the now and thank God for the opportunity of being participants in this day! The joy of the Lord is my strength and this is the day He has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it!

      Blessings your way, my brother!

      Gladwell

  5. Great post! I saw a story on the news this morning about the tornados in Mississippi, US. They interviewed a man whose whole house was gone. His comment was that it was okay because his family was all safe. The things he lost can be replaced, but family can’t be replaced. God and family are definitely the only things we should hold onto, and sometimes I think we even have to let go of family so that God can hold onto them instead. Peace, Linda

    • Linda,

      Amen. What a powerful example. At times, it takes a radical experience in our lives for us to understand that the things we hold dear may not be as dear as we think. Yes, God wants us to hold relationships and Him more dearly than any other things or accomplishments that may come our way. My pastor always say…you will only take people with you to heaven and nothing more!

      God bless you and hugs,

      Gladwell

  6. Gladwell – I love how Christ taps us on the shoulder and reminds us to keep our eyes fixed on Him and the things that matter, not on those things that don’t matter. May you find joy in the place where you are today. –Godspeed, Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

