BE WARNED: HE IS YOUR COVERING

Ruth 3:3-4 Wash and perfume yourself, and put on your best clothes. Then go down to the threshing-floor, but don’t let him know you are there until he has finished eating and drinking. When he lies down, note the place where he is lying. Then go and UNCOVER HIS FEET and lie down. He will tell you what to do.

I love the love story of Ruth and Boaz. Of all the Bible love stories, this one means more to me than any other. Why, because it represents my love story! I remember how God put these words in my heart a couple years before I met my husband. Right from the time I was a baby Christian, I knew I had a calling for service. And of course, my calling wasn’t obvious but I served for years within my local church all the same. Then…as time went by and a husband seemed almost out of reach, God put these words in my heart. ‘I WILL GIVE YOU A MINISTRY BUT FIRST I WILL GIVE YOU A HUSBAND FOR YOUR COVERING!

When the Lord spoke those words, they meant little or rather made no sense to me then. A covering? Never before had I heard someone being given a husband for a covering. But…when my husband came along and consequently God made my call to write so crystal clear, then I understood what He meant. In every sense of that word, I am COVERED!

What then is a covering?

When I looked up in my Collins dictionary, to my amusement, the word COVER is defined so widely and extensively but I just managed to get a few to make my point more clear.

COVER: to place or spread something over so as to PROTECT or CONCEAL;to provide with a covering; a hiding place or shelter; to ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY FOR A PERSON OR THING; to insure against risk; to GUARD or protect.

Your husband is your covering…because He is the HEAD and leader of your household.

Ephesians 5:23 For the husband is the HEAD of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Saviour.

Your husband is your covering…because He is your PROTECTOR and co-heir with you in Christ.

1 Peter 3:7 Husbands, in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat her with respect as the WEAKER PARTNER and as heirs with you of the gracious gift of life, so that nothing will hinder your prayers.

A husband is your covering…because He is your LOVER and your best of friends.

Genesis 2:25 Then man and his wife were both naked, and they felt no shame.

A husband is your covering…because He is your PROVIDER and co-worker with you in Kingdom service.

1 Timothy 5:8 If anyone does not PROVIDE for his relatives, and especially for his immediate family, he has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.

Dear wives: Is your husband your covering? Are you rested under his protective wings, as you would Christ? God wants you to submit to him in all things and entrust the things which are beyond your ability at His throne in prayer.

BE WARNED: No matter what, YOUR HUSBAND IS STILL YOUR COVERING!

4 thoughts on “BE WARNED: HE IS YOUR COVERING

  1. I love this Gladwell, and know it to be true. My husband has not come to Jesus yet, but still God uses him as a cover for me. And in ways and times that he can’t, then He is always there, covering and keeping me. God bless you! deb

    • Deb,

      Yes, its true even though your husband is not yet a believer, He is still your covering and God has him in your life for a purpose. And I do believe with you, that someday, he will become a sojourner with you in the journey of faith. Meanwhile, stay faithful to your calling as his wife!

      God is good! Love and hugs,

      Gladwell

  2. This is such a beautiful post, Gladwell, and so true.

    I know how secure one feels to have a godly husband for a spiritual covering.

    You have put it down so clearly and so beautifully.

    I appreciate the spirit of clarity that enables you to write about these things.

    Love
    Lidj

    • Lidj,

      How are you doing my sister? I do appreciate your comment especially since you had been under your husband’s covering for 30 years and he is no longer there for you. Thats why God becomes the husband to the widow. I know you are comforted! Thank you for stopping by.

      Much love and blessings,

      Gladwell

Leave a Reply

