A DOUBLE PORTION INHERITANCE

2 Kings 2:9-10 When they had crossed, Elijah said to Elisha, “Tell me, what can I do for you before I am taken from you?” “LET ME INHERIT A DOUBLE PORTION OF YOUR SPIRIT,” Elisha replied. “You have asked a difficult thing,” Elijah said, “YET IF YOU SEE ME WHEN I AM TAKEN FROM YOU, it will be yours _ otherwise not.”

This weekend for me was quite an unusual one. Why? Because God finally declared me DEAD. Follow me on this one from the truth drawn from the above conversation between Elijah, the Prophet with his servant/assistant Elisha. Prophet Elijah was outspoken and fearless in his lifetime and after accomplishing his God given purpose on earth, it was now time for him to depart. But before he left, he wanted to do something for Elisha. Notice what was Elisha’s answer when asked what he wanted. ‘LET ME INHERIT….

You see, no one can inherit from another if that person is still alive. Hebrews 9:16-17 In case of a will, it is necessary to PROVE the death of the one who made it because a will is in FORCE only when somebody has died; it never takes EFFECT WHILE THE PERSON WHO MADE IT IS STILL LIVING.

Do I know my inheritance? Yes. What stands between me and my inheritance? A DEATH. After what has been a very difficult and trying period for me and my family, the Lord certified me as LEGALLY DEAD…A DEATH TO THE FLESH. For the past six months, He has allowed circumstances and situations to happen in our lives so that we would die to our own human ambitions, abilities and ideas because like Elisha, we needed not work nor raise a human finger in order for us to INHERIT that which belonged to someone else. The words of Elijah to Elisha in respond to his question gives us the bigger picture; YET IF YOU SEE ME WHEN I AM TAKEN, it will be yours…in otherwise, Elisha had to witness the death/or taking away of Elijah before the DOUBLE PORTION INHERITANCE he had asked for could belong to him.

Before this weekend, my inheritance was what I had asked for and was waiting. But now, I am no longer waiting because I DIED. GLADWELL, the flesh died. Now, I am eligible for the spiritual blessings that are hidden in Christ Jesus, my Lord and co-heir.

What about you? Do you know your inheritance? What is standing between you and your inheritance?

Remember…Christ died for us and through his death, we became co-heirs with Him. Galatians 4:7

Ask for your double portion…and yes, wait for a death…and it will be a done deal. AMEN!

9 thoughts on “A DOUBLE PORTION INHERITANCE

  1. I think I’m about to come into an inheritance I didn’t expect. Why? Because mine has been a slow death, but I think I’m closer now than I was six years ago. I’m not sure what all of this means here; I’ll have to contemplate further, but I stand ready to receive what the Lord has because life with him is so much more than life on my own.

    peace~elaine

  2. Hi Gladwell, it is such a blessing to visit your site. I followed your comment on Lidj’s Crown of Beauty blog.
    Over the last two years I too have died to the flesh. My song everyday now is that I have been crucified with Christ. It took me a long time and around the same mountain year after year after year until I allowed the Holy Spirit to show me that I could walk in the Spirit so I wouldn’t fulfill the lust of the flesh.

    I have been ‘looking around’ and reading some of your writing. You have a blessed hand. Thank you for your heart and your insight.

    blessings,
    vickie

    • Thank you, Vickie and welcome. I thank you for stopping by. I was so blessed to read Lidj blog today. You see, it just so happened that I found her through another blogging friend called Linda and I am glad I did. God is in the business of connecting people, HIS CHILDREN.

      Blessings,

      Gladwell

  3. Wow Gladwell, how powerful. Death to the flesh is such a wonderful thing. I have actually experienced it in the past 18 months or so, and it changes everything. You become a valiant warrior for the Lord, material wealth means nothing, Other souls mean everything. This earth, its governments and political idealogies-Nothing, Only Glory to God and spreading his words of kindness and love to Gods children. I am so happy to see this kindred rekindling among our people. God Bless
    BlessedDad

  4. Hi, I’ve always loved this passage…and it has also been my desire to inherit a double portion of Elijah.

    I also desire to pass on a double portion to the people God has given me to mentor!

    Thank you for visiting my blog tonight. I praise God for kingdom connections!

    Be extremely blessed…
    Lidj

  5. So good! Gladwell your words always touch me. I’m almost giddy waiting for your posts to load. Thank you for the sincere words. I love how God uses everything to our good- even discipline. Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

