Archive | March 1, 2010

A DOUBLE PORTION INHERITANCE

2 Kings 2:9-10 When they had crossed, Elijah said to Elisha, “Tell me, what can I do for you before I am taken from you?” “LET ME INHERIT A DOUBLE PORTION OF YOUR SPIRIT,” Elisha replied. “You have asked a difficult thing,” Elijah said, “YET IF YOU SEE ME WHEN I AM TAKEN FROM YOU, it will be yours _ otherwise not.”

This weekend for me was quite an unusual one. Why? Because God finally declared me DEAD. Follow me on this one from the truth drawn from the above conversation between Elijah, the Prophet with his servant/assistant Elisha. Prophet Elijah was outspoken and fearless in his lifetime and after accomplishing his God given purpose on earth, it was now time for him to depart. But before he left, he wanted to do something for Elisha. Notice what was Elisha’s answer when asked what he wanted. ‘LET ME INHERIT….

You see, no one can inherit from another if that person is still alive. Hebrews 9:16-17 In case of a will, it is necessary to PROVE the death of the one who made it because a will is in FORCE only when somebody has died; it never takes EFFECT WHILE THE PERSON WHO MADE IT IS STILL LIVING.

Do I know my inheritance? Yes. What stands between me and my inheritance? Continue reading