NAKED TRUST

Genesis 22:5 He said to his servants, ‘Stay here with the donkey while I and the boy go over there. We will worship and then WE WILL COME BACK TO YOU.”

Of late, I have this strange yet not frightening feeling that someone is watching my every move. Its almost as if…my privacy is being violated at every step I make but at the same time…I don’t feel exposed to danger. This morning, the Lord finally put these words into my heart. NAKED TRUST!

Let’s begin by defining these two words separately;

NAKED means…having the body unclothed; undressed; having no covering; EXPOSED; unsupported by authority etc.

TRUST means…reliance on and confidence in the truth, worth, reliability, etc., of a person of thing; faith; custody, charge or care of; to allow someone to do something with the confidence in his/her good sense of honesty etc.

What is NAKED TRUST then? Naked trust can be defined therefore as a show of PUBLIC CONFIDENCE in a person or thing.

We all get excited when we read the story of Abraham as he waits for God to fulfill his promise to give him a son. It takes trust to believe God will do as He promised…in spite of the many obstacles along the way. Abraham believed God…and in time….Isaac, the son of promise was borne to him in his old age. After sometime, we see the very same God who gave Abraham his son come back with a strange request. A request which has no promise attached to it. I WANT YOUR SON! Take him to the altar…and I will meet you there.

Hmm…NAKED TRUST For the first time…Abraham has no idea what will ensue at the meeting place but he did nothing to resist or try to talk God out of an insane request. In fact, without wasting time, he did what he knew best to do. He rose up the next morning and set off…in obedience…yes, in NAKED TRUST!

Genesis 22:3 Early the next morning Abraham got up and saddled his donkey. He took with him two of his servants and his son ISAAC. When he had cut enough wood for the burnt offering, he SET OUT for the place God has told him about.

Maybe…that is you? God is calling you to ENTRUST something of value in your life. There are NO GUARANTEES; NO PROMISES; but God says…I will meet you there…at the altar!

And again…when you are at a place of NAKED TRUST...it means you are no longer walking alone; you are under public scrutiny. Many eyes are watching you. Abraham had two servants who were watching him closely. And his son too was also WATCHING him. And even through Abraham was unaware of God’s plan at the end…he left his servants behind and told them confidently, ...WE WILL COME BACK TO YOU! Gen. 22:5

You see…when TRUST IS EXPOSED… it will either be your undoing or your greatest victory! In the end…God wasn’t interested in the SACRIFICE OF ISAAC! No…He was interest in the HEART OF ABRAHAM! Naked trust…takes you to the point of surrender, of a dying to self and finally a knowing that whatever the end might bring, YOUR HEART WILL ALWAYS BE SAFE WITH GOD!

Friend, I don’t know where you are. But I am walking towards…my mountain in NAKED TRUST…like Abraham, I know after I have worshiped, I WILL BE BACK!

SPECIAL THANKSGIVING: For all those who have been standing with my family in prayer…I want to say thank you and may the Lord bless you mightly! My daughter is well…and back to preschool.

8 thoughts on “NAKED TRUST

  1. Gladwell,
    I find it really awesome how God speaks to us in words, placed on our heart by the Holy Spirit. He does the same for me, wand when He does, I do the same, define and look for application. It helps us to become “Sanctified” and “Seasoned by Grace”. 😉 God Bless
    Jim

    • Jim,

      When He speaks…at times it comes to quieten our troubled hearts, but there are times when He speaks without any future reference, we like Abraham ought to look at the past…and understand that no harm can befall us if we only FULLY TRUST HIM! Yes…each day we are getting sanctified and seasoned with Grace.

      Blessings,

      Gladwell

  2. Keep trusting, my friend, and I will do the same. God’s after the heart… after the surrender of everything to him for him. There have been many a times when I’ve struggled with that surrender, wanting to keep back a portion that I felt I could better manage. Time and again, he’s reminded me to hold loosely the things & people of this earth; that it all belongs to him, and that I must be willing to be a good steward of those things/people, but that he has the final authority over them and me!

    Glad you’re back in action. Continuing prayers for you all.

    peace~elaine

    • Elaine,

      Thank you for standing with me. Its good to be in this place because the end is unpredictable and I don’t need to prepare before hand. Hence, I can only do my best….TRUST HIM to bring the best outcome for me to the Glory of His Name!

      Love and hugs,

      Gladwell

  3. Trust exposed . . .naked trust . . .wow! Very powerful message Gladwell! It does take laying it all on the altar, whatever He asks, knowing our heart is safe with Him. Phew, the posts today are really getting to me, in a good way. Thank you so much for this! God bless you always! deb

  4. Gladwell, It’s good to have you back. What a terrific post on this diffiult part of scripture. I love this line, “knowing that whatever the end might bring, YOUR HEART WILL ALWAYS BE SAFE WITH GOD!” What a knowledge to have!! Peace, Linda

Leave a Reply

