SHATTERED DREAMS: DEALING WITH DISAPPOINTMENT

2 Samuel 12:19-20 David noticed that his servants were whispering among themselves and he realised that the child was dead. “Is the child dead?” he asked. “Yes,” they replied, ‘HE IS DEAD.” Then David got up from the ground. After he has washed, put on lotions and changed his clothes, he went into the house of the Lord and WORSHIPPED. Then he went to his own house, and at his request they served him food, and he ate.

SHATTERED DREAMS: How do you deal with the disappointment? Truth be told. There is no easy way to deal with the disappointment of broken dreams? But there is always a way…THE WAY! Every time I go back to read about David’s encounter in 2 Samuel 12, my heart is deeply stirred. Why? Because I see an attitude which is so rare today…yet is badly needed especially when all hope seems lost! Let me give you a little background on King David’s encounter. We all know about David’s extramarital affair with Bathsheba, Uriah’s wife. A baby is conceived…and a husband who has no idea about it…gets killed on the front-line to cover up for the King’s sin. But God cannot be mocked. He sends Nathan the Prophet to David…and uncovers his sin…and with it, the consequences which includes the death of that child conceived in an act of adultery. Of course, it would have been worse. But God spared King David’s life in exchange for his baby’s.

For seven full days and nights…David touched no food as He PLEADS with God to spare his son’s life to no avail. His whole household is also deeply affected by the unfolding events in the King’s house. On the seventh day, his child dies. His servants are terrified to approach him with the news. ...for they thought, “While the child was still living, we spoke to David but he would not listen to us. How can we tell him the child is dead? He may do something desperate.” 2 Samuel 12:8

In other words, they thought…that David would not be able to dealing with the disappointment of losing his child. Yes…his DREAMS WERE SHATTERED. But David himself was not shattered. His world underneath his feet has been shaken, but HIS HEART had remained steadfast. He also understood that even though he could not change the heart of God in the matter, he could touch the heart of God in WORSHIP.

My friend, maybe that is you: The verdict has been passed and your dreams have been shattered: These are but a few examples:

– You cannot have children of your own
– You have just a few months to live
– Your child will be born with some defects
– Your spouse is leaving you for someone else etc
.

And while it is true…there is deep pain and anguish when our dreams are crushed, like David…we ought to find a place for God not necessary to revive our dreams, but rather to WORSHIP… to thank Him for what we had or hoped to have; to find hope for the next season; to ask for courage to deal with our present and forget the past; to gather the broken pieces and redeem what we can and dispose what we cannot. WORSHIP…makes us understand the heart of God…in the matter and allowing Him to shape and birth NEW DREAMS in our hearts. David lost a son, but he gained a son who GOD LOVED!

2 Samuel 12:24 Then David comforted his wife Bathsheba, and he went to her and lay with her. She gave birth to a son, and they named him Solomon. THE LORD LOVED HIM;

11 thoughts on “SHATTERED DREAMS: DEALING WITH DISAPPOINTMENT

  1. Gladwell, I love this part of your post: “Yes…his DREAMS WERE SHATTERED. But David himself was not shattered.” When we worship God and trust in His mercy, we can withstand the difficulties of this life. This doesn’t mean we don’t feel grief over our losses and shattered dreams, but they cannot destroy us if we trust in Him. Peace, Linda

    • Linda,

      That is precisely the point. Shattered dreams will cause us to hurt…but beyond the hurt and loss, we remember that God has the bigger picture even though we might not see or even understand during the season of loss. With or without fulfilled dreams, we are still loved of God!

      God bless you. In Him,

      Gladwell

  2. Gladwell,

    Feel so blessed to read your post today…I have been there many a times…shattered dreams…and hopeless days..but God taught me to worship Him in the middle of that…Oh..I wish it was easy…but our God knows what He is doing…

    Thank you Gladwell for reminding me to continue in my worship…because that way I’m close to His heart…

    God Bless,
    Rani

    • Rani,

      Despite our setbacks and shattered dreams, today we should offer Him our deepest worship…knowing that His plans for us are for good and evil to give us hope and a future. God…is worth our worship no matter where we are in life! Be encouraged as you continue seeking His face!

      Love and hugs,

      Gladwell

  3. Gladwell – You have such a beautiful way of reminding us of God’s incredible love for us — even in disappointment He is there. You remind me that I can always find peace through Him if I will turn to him. –Godspeed, Elizabeth

    • Elizabeth,

      I guess this is because He has allowed me to experience His love…differently of late. I had to die much…and He is gaining ground in my heart…over and over again. HE IS AND WILL REMAIN FAITHFUL…in our disappointments and beyond. Thank you, my friend.

      Love,

      Gladwell

  4. I just reread this story last week as part of my nightly study. I really had not thought about the spect of dealing with disappointment. Thanks for the good insight.

  5. Gladwell, I had forgotten this part of scripture! It makes me cry, just in it’s truth and beauty . . .to worship when our dreams are shattered. God bless you for leading us to Him today, in worship. love, deb

    • Deb,

      I have to admit. I shared a tear or two while I was reading this story again. Like Job, I will say…even though He slays me, I will still praise Him. When we don’t understand why, we still ought to lean on Him…and remember of His precious promises. I will praise and worship at His feet tonight! Glory to His Holy Name!

      Gladwell

  6. I just spoke on this passage Sunday in church! Another aspect that spoke to me was the fact that David poured his heart out to God on behalf of that baby knowing the prophet said it would die. When the baby died David accepted God’s answer. So many times I get angry or dissappointed when my prayers aren’t answered my way and then see later that God’s way is best after all. When will I learn this! Thanks for sharing Gladwell. Great thoughts as always. God Bless!

    • Mike,

      Wow. That is great to hear. Yes, I have also had to learn through my own disappointment before I realised that God’s way is alway perfect…in spite of our broken dreams. I guess, I am not alone. But…to find strength to worship Him at such moments is the hardest. But He is a good God!

      God bless you!

      Gladwell

Leave a Reply

