A JOY OF SORTS!!!

Today, I just picked up my Polish ID which now identifies me as a rightful and lawful citizen of this country, Poland. It is strange, but when I got the identity card, I felt a JOY OF SORTS. But why do I say that? Because a couple of years back, after I had qualified to become a citizen of this country under the Polish marriage act, I resisted the idea. On one hand, I wasn’t yet ready to disconnect from my roots, while on the other, there was need for me to be a part of where God had placed me, that is, at my husband’s side. Then something happened in early November, last year that made my decision…either way inevitable. A decision had to be made…and made quickly. When I finally made the decision to give up my country’s citizenship…which is the requirement before you become a Polish citizen, I felt a strange relief and peace.
After what has been a four month process…today…I get the TANGIBLE EVIDENCE that I am part of this society.

Its a JOY OF SORTS…because in reality…I am still AFRICAN with a European identity.
Its a JOY OF SORTS…because for the first time…I get to bear a new surname…my husband’s after more than five years of marriage.
Its a JOY OF SORTS…because doors for the future will begin opening for me..and my family
Its a JOY OF SORTS...because after all has been said and done...I AM STILL THE SAME OLD BUT NEW ME.

Tomorrow, it will be a JOY OF SORTS...because my youngest sister will be getting married and I wouldn’t be there with her…but all the same, MY HEART, LOVE, PRAYERS AND BEST OF WISHES…goes out to her and her new husband to be.

Lord…need I add more? TODAY, YOU HAVE BECOME MY SALVATION!

Psalm 118:14-16 The Lord is my STRENGTH and my SONG; he has become my SALVATION. SHOUTS OF JOY and VICTORY resound in the tents of the righteous; ”The Lord’s right hand has done mighty things! The Lord’s right hand is lifted high; the Lord’s right hand has done mighty things!”

10 thoughts on “A JOY OF SORTS!!!

  1. Gladwell,
    Congratulations on your new additional identity. As a follower of Christ, and an African woman, your husband’s wife, and a citizen of Poland. God Bless you sister
    Jim

  2. What a beautiful commitment to your husband and the Lord you have made with this choice. As Christ followers, our real citizenship is in heaven, we’re just passing through here.

    Have a blessed weekend (and congratulations to your sister!).

    • Marsha,

      Nice to see you here again after awhile. Yes…I am following my heart…and his heart too. And it will be well because God has promised us a great future. Of course, our earthly citizenship is but on borrowed time as we await our true heavenly one.

      Blessings to you as well…and thank you for the best wishes!

      Gladwell

Leave a Reply

