GOD’S MEETING PLACE

Psalm 76:1-2 In JUDAH God is known; his name is great in ISRAEL. His tent is in SALEM, his dwelling-place in ZION.

Does God have a meeting place? Where did you or do you meet with God? Even though we might not realize it, when we come to meet with God, we meet Him…in either of these four places mentioned in Psalm 76.

In JUDAH God is known…represents your first meeting place with God…where you recognize that you are a sinner in need of a Saviour. It is by KNOWING and calling upon that name that you receive salvation. Judah, in other words represent the PERSONAL MEETING PLACE BETWEEN GOD AND AN INDIVIDUAL.

John 17:26 I have made you known to them and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.

Joel 2:32 And everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved; for on the Mount Zion and in Jerusalem there will be deliverance, as the Lord has said, among the survivors whom the Lord calls.

His Name is great in ISRAEL….represents the place where God meets you, not as an individual but as a part of a nation. Abraham met God as an individual…but his descendants, Israel down in Egypt meet Him as a nation. He addressed and dealt with them, as a nation. Hence, in other words, ISRAEL represents THE CORPORATE MEETING PLACE BETWEEN GOD AND NATIONS.

Isaiah 44:6 This is what the Lord says_ Israel’s King and Redeemer, the Lord Almighty: I am the FIRST and I am the LAST; apart from me there is NO GOD.

Joel 3:1-2 ‘In those days and at that time, when I restore the fortunes of Judah and Jerusalem, I will gather all the NATIONS and bring them down to the Valley of Jehoshaphat. There I will enter into judgment against them concerning my inheritance, my people, ISRAEL, for they scattered my people among the nations and divided up my land.

His tent is in SALEM...Salem is the short form of JERUSALEM....represents where God meets you, not as an individual, or nation but as part of His body, THE CHURCH. The church began its mission from Jerusalem and spread into other part of the earth over the centuries.

Act 1:8 But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in JERUSALEM, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.

Roman 1:16 I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: FIRST FOR THE JEW, THEN FOR THE GENTILE.

His dwelling-place is ZION…represents where God meets you, as an individual, a nation, a church. Its a place where God meets with individuals, nations and the church…to answer their petitions, supplications, intercessions but above all…it will be the final meeting place between God…and all mankind on the DAY OF JUDGMENT.

Hebrew 12:22-24 But you have come to Mount Zion, to the heavenly Jerusalem, the city of the living God. You have come to thousands upon thousands of angels in joyful assembly, to the church of the firstborn, whose names are written in heaven. You have come to God the judge of all men, to the spirits of righteous men made perfect, to Jesus the mediator of a new covenant, and to the sprinkled blood that speaks a better word than the blood of Abel.

Revelation 7:9 After this I looked and there before me was a great multitude that no-one could count, from every NATION, TRIBE, PEOPLE and LANGUAGE standing before the throne and in front of the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands.

I don’t know about you friend, but I desire and pray that you will meet God at one of His meeting places. Because in His Presence…there is FULLNESS OF JOY!

Be blessed in Him.

13 thoughts on “GOD’S MEETING PLACE

  1. What an interesting post! It gave me a new perspective that I hadn’t considered. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. We are blessed–in his presence there IS fullness of joy!

    • Lisa,

      Hi. Thank you for stopping by to comment. Yes…in HIS PRESENCE there is fullness of joy. May you dwell there and find peace today and everyday!

      God bless you.

      Gladwell

  2. Gladwell,
    God is present and all peace and joy flows from him. The only true source of peace and joe are Him. Thank you for being so good at encouragement. God Bless
    Jim

  3. Gladwell . . .I have never considered this before, nor heard it taught! đŸ™‚ I love learning something new about Him, and what better than where to meet Him and when (NOW!). đŸ™‚ God bless you as you teach us! deb

    • Deb,

      In Him….there is always something new to learn and grow into maturity so we might become a good workmanship for His Kingdom. I thank God for the witness of the Holy Spirit in each one of us as we live up to the calling He has put in each of our individual lives.

      Blessings and hugs,

      Gladwell

  4. Gladwell,

    I have read that verse many times before…but never understood it this far…I thank God for the wisdom He has given you to explain that verse so beautifully…I want to meet Him in all these places…because as you said in His presence there is FULLNESS OF JOY..whcih you can never get from anywhere else..

    I’m so grateful that God is using you in my life…someone I have never seen, someone who is miles apart from me…yet so close to my heart through the love of God.

    God Bless you sis,
    Rani

    • Rani,

      I thank God…for you as well. For the words of encouragement that has and will continue to touch and uplift many to hope and put their trust in Him. You have been a sister to me. Let us keep His banner of love lifted for all to see….that Our God is good.

      God bless and keep you!

      Gladwell

  5. Gladwell,
    This is truly the jewel in the crown of the many devotionals you have written to date and I praise God for the wisdom He has bestowed upon you. Yes, we certainly meet God in different places and with different motivations and I thank you for showing me the scriptural references for them and the relationship expectations from these meetings.
    Blessings,
    Vineet

  6. Thanks for another great post Gladwell. Timely too as we in the USA observe a National Day of Prayer. What an awesome thought that we can take God with us into every corner of our lives. Blessings!

    • Mike,

      Oh…I didn’t know that today is USA National Day of Prayer! Thats great. I hope and do pray that Christians will come together in unity at God’s meeting place at His throne. May the Lord hear your prayers…as a Nation, Church and individuals. He is faithful!

      God bless and keep you!

      Gladwell

Leave a Reply

