BECOMING A MASTER OF GOOD

Romans 16:19-20 Everyone has heard about your obedience, so I am full of joy over you; but I want you to WISE ABOUT WHAT IS GOOD, and innocent about what is evil. The God of peace will SOON crush Satan under your feet.

Yesterday, as I walked the short distance to pick my daughter from kindergarten, the words of Romans 16:19-20 started flowing out of my mouth in form of a song we used to sing many years ago in my home church back in Kenya. Yes, God has been teaching me a great truth of late. Oh….and this is after what has been a tough season of going through the FLOODWATERS and THE FIRE.

Psalm 66:10-12 For you, O God tested us; you refined us like silver. You brought us into prison and laid burdens on our backs. You let men ride over our heads; we went through FIRE and WATER, but you brought us to A PLACE OF ABUNDANCE.

And yes, while we were going through the battle, we couldn’t understand why things were happening as they were. No, not until things had cleared up….and now, as I stand at the other side, God is saying to me.

BE A MASTER OF GOOD. PURSUE NOTHING BUT GOOD. EXCEL IN GOODNESS.

And while I was going through the difficult period, someone came along and said, ‘Don’t be too quick to acknowledge God over things He has no connection to.’ I bit my tongue and said nothing but I wondered if there was a truth in what was said. But…as time went by, the Lord began to put these thoughts in my heart.

In this particular season of testing, WE WERE EXCEL AT WHAT WAS GOOD. We did not blame anyone or point fingers, but instead, WE CARRIED OUR CROSS. We did not seek for justice for our persecutors, not even Godly justice, instead, we prayed for our persecutors. And above all, we relinquished any right to be right in the situation, and allowed GOD TO HAVE THE FINAL WORD.

So here is the word: BE A MASTER AT WHAT IS GOOD. Why? Because soon He will CRUSH…the oppressor right in front of our eyes. This is a promise. I am not longing for justice, but I WILL BE EXCELLENT at GOODNESS and INNOCENT of EVIL.

I don’t know what you have been through of late in your life. But God has a place for redemption for you. Don’t seek your own justice. Don’t seek to understand why you have to go through all the pain and hurt. It is God who allowed my family to go through a season of pain and hurt. Do not seek evil for evil. Do not be moved by what you see. God is about to move in ways that only He can. My friend, stay put!

God will meet you on the OTHER SIDE.

– Its a place of abundance
– Its a place of healing
– Its a place of settlement
– Its a place of increase
– Its a place of peace and silent confidence

So…if you want and desire to reach and meet Him at the other side, hear what He is saying today:

BE A MASTER OF GOOD! PURSUE GOODNESS and you will see the GOODNESS OF THE LORD IN THE LAND OF THE LIVING. Psalm 27:13

God bless you!

10 thoughts on “BECOMING A MASTER OF GOOD

  1. Gladwell – I love the point that you “allowed God to have the final word.” No finger pointing; no blame. Just a faithful trust in God and his plan. What a great witness to Him.
    –Godspeed, Elizabeth

  2. Hi Gladwell, all things work togther good for those that Love Him. Its amazing how the Lord can turn difficult times around for our good. Things we learn and character that is formed. God bless.
    Bisi

  3. Oh Gladwell, this lesson is SO important to all followers, we need to be still and let God work. There will be pain, there will be loss, persecution, and suffering, but He will see us through. God has placed something on my heart that was startling recently, not in a bad way, but I am praying about it. He is calling me to make a BOLD move with someone who is lost, and I need to just trust him and go with it. Thing is, this person is VERY powerful and VERY proud. He has been spoken to gently and lovingly about Christ, but has continued to wallow in pride, and hey, God gives the increase right? It was put on my heart recently to tell him, “You will be broken” gently, lovingly, but all the same. The Spirit has never led me wrong, and I don’t feel he is going to start, it is just hard to deliver a thought like that. Anyway sis, Happy weekend and God Bless. You and your family are in my prayers.
    Jim

    • Jim,

      I know what you meant. But if the Lord give you the vision to seek out this person, then He will also give you the grace to do the harder part. Be encouraged!

      Blessings,

      Gladwell

  4. Pursue goodness… in all situations. God’s good, not our own. He is faithful to work it all out for his glory and gain, but getting there is sometimes a difficult walk, as you have alluded to here. I am sorry for your pain, friend, for any persecution that has come to you and your family in this season of life. More so, I am glad for your continuing faithfulness to the call of the kingdom. God is bringing you through and soon there will be a renewed peace and perspective in your weariness. Much love to you all this day; you’re in my prayers and if there is a further way I can pray for you, let me know via e-mail.

    peace~elaine

    • Elaine,

      Oh…its been a journey…one which I didn’t know I could go through and come out without even the slighted bruises. But it is because it was the will of God for His word to be proven true in my life before I can receive my inheritance. I thank Him for this season in my life. I am now STRONG and STANDING in Him. Yes, do keep us in prayer. I will get around to write sometime soon.

      God bless and keep you!

      Gladwell

    • Deb,

      When I was hurting…I didn’t know where I would end up. Now…looking back, I know it was well worth it. I am praising Him…because its time for my overflow! I will keep you in my prayers. Take courage and wait on Him.

      Love and blessings,

      Gladwell

      Love

  5. Gladwell, God will use your testimony to encourage many. I’m praising Him for helping you stay faithful through this time–and look at what you’ve gained! You’d have it missed if you hadn’t held firm.

    God bless you and your family today, my sister, and may His light continue to shine through you.

Leave a Reply

