WEAK FAITH: WHAT IS YOUR ROLE IN IT?

Romans 14:1 Accept him WHOSE FAITH IS WEAK, without passing judgment on disputable matters.

I have a CONFESSION TO MAKE. So here, I come! As a person of strong faith, I find myself often dealing impatiently with a person who has weak faith. Yes, with the knowledge and wisdom God has granted me, at times, I find I want to forcefully turn it over to the one of weak faith….hoping that they will pick up the mantle to become GREAT FAITH WARRIORS. But, God has proved me wrong again and again.

God has been teaching me this:

FAITH IS PERSONAL and even when it is cooperative, it doesn’t mean it is ENOUGH. If one person has great faith and another in their midst has weaker faith, added together it does not equal average faith. In the hearing of the Word, where faith springs from, does not mean that the hearers of the word will hear the same thing at the same time to warrant the same kind of respond.

Romans 12:3 For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought to, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the MEASURE OF FAITH GOD HAS GIVEN US.

FAITH IS A PROCESS and even when it is productive, it doesn’t mean it is COMPLETE. Faith helps us to bear fruit not according to the faith at our disposal but rather according the the seed and our capacity to handle the finished product. Hence, great faith doesn’t necessary guarantee great results. But faith…as little as a mustard seed can grow into a great mustard tree and produce great fruit.

Mark 4:20 Others, like seed sown on good soil, hear the word, accept it, and produce a crop_ thirty, sixty or even a hundred times what was sown.

So what is your role when dealing with ONE WHO HAS WEAK FAITH?

The answer is simple: BE YOUR BROTHER’S KEEPER because someday, you will give God an account about yourself towards your brother.

Romans 14:13 Therefore, let us stop passing judgment on one another. Instead, make up your mind not to put a STUMBLING-BLOCK OR OBSTACLE in your brother’s way.

I have made up my mind….and with God’s help….I will work it out with fear and trembling because this is the way of Salvation.

Will you join me?

12 thoughts on “WEAK FAITH: WHAT IS YOUR ROLE IN IT?

  1. Gladwell, You are so right that faith is personal. It takes time, prayer, and study of the Word for faith to grow stronger. I find that many Christians do not spend much time reading the scriptures. These are the ones I become impatient with, because the weakness of their faith and lack of understanding is because they have not spent time in the Word. But that is God’s concern. Especially when I confess that I don’t read my Bible as often as I know I should. My concern is to love them and teach when and where He wants me to, and to focus on the strength of my own faith. Peace, Linda

    • Linda,

      This was a confession for me…to God and my fellow brethren…that faith no matter how great should not be used to discredit those with weak faith whatsoever. So…I ask for wisdom, mercy and sensitivity from the AUTHOR OF MY FAITH…that is, OUR HEAVENLY FATHER. I know I am forgiven.

      Love and hugs,

      Gladwell

  2. Gladwell,
    This totally speaks to me, because it too is my struggle. I have to stop and think though, it took me my entire life to get to the place where I am now in my relationship with Christ. Along the way, many people of extreme faith who mentored me were probably frustrated with me internally because I had all the tools, had the truth before me, yet it was not yet my time to go to a different level. I must remember that if you have a roomful of violinists who can all play the violin, they will not all be capable of playing in the symphony, maybe only one or two, but they are all still capable violinists just the same. God bless sister
    Jim

    • Jim,

      I love your very thoughtful example here. It got my imagination working just thinking about the violinists. Yes, its true…faith was never meant to produce the same results in each one of us because we are all wired differently and God wants faith that works in love and not just faith standing on its own. I thank God for His mercies…which are renewed each morning because I am one of those in need of God’s mercy. In other words, God is saying, learn to tread carefully with what I have passed on to you. Thank you and God bless.

      Gladwell

  3. Gladwell,
    Jesus reminded his disciples that the first would be last and the least would be the greatest. I believe that as we journey with the Lord, we are given glimpses into God’s character and even though we feel overwhelmed by what we see or understand, we are seeing but a fraction of a fraction of God. In the same way in our faith, we think we know but we soon realize that we don’t and while we feel we are further up the mountain of faith, God reveals to us greater wisdom in the mouth of babes! Being patient with those around us is hard in the area of Biblical understanding but in being patient, we learn new and wonderful things. Thank you for challenging us once again with the word of God and opening our eyes to new and relevant truths.
    Vineet

    • Vineet,

      This was a confession….one which I am working on because as it were, I was once down there. And the fact that I am a little higher the mountain can be more dangerous for me than when I was lower. By the God’s Spirit….I want and desire for a heart change and compassion for those who are struggling and battling on their way up. God has been faithful to me…and He will be faithful to them as well. Meanwhile, I ask for cleansing and a clear conscience in this matter.

      Loads of blessings for you and your precious family.

      Gladwell

  4. God has given us a humbling look at faith through you today. Thank you for helping us be about our Father’s business and lifting each other up. love in Jesus! deb

    • Deb,

      Yes, I will be about my Father’s business without stepping out of the boundaries He has set for me. This was my confession and I repent of my impatience!

      God bless and keep you close in His arms.

      Love, Gladwell

  5. Gladwell,

    This is something which God has been teaching me…instead of judging and seeing the negatives in them…He is teaching me to support them in prayer so that one day they will grow in Him and reach the expected level…not according to my standards…but according to His.

    Thank you for sharing that thought…
    God Bless,
    Rani

    • Rani,

      Like you, I am learning to take my share without expecting too much from another. In any case, they are God’s and it is Him who will make them stand.

      Love and blessings,

      Gladwell

  6. Thanks Gladwell. It had a greater impact on me than I can express. My problem was not with those of weaker faith…I seem to have great compassion for them. My problem had been with those who were supposed to have stronger faith when my impression of their actions was that they were weaker than they thought. Fortunately, that was only one or two people.

    And I HAVE NO BUSINESS even looking at the speck in someone’s eye when I have a mote in mine!

    So thank you for the reminder. Guess…I’ll go and focus on the matters of God and God Himself. That ought to keep me busy. (smiles)

    Thanks for the reminder!!! Love E

Leave a Reply

