WARNING: SHE COMES WITH FAVOR

Proverbs 18:22 He who finds a wife finds a GOOD THING and receives FAVOR FROM THE LORD.

I guess every country has its own traditions when it comes to the wedding cards. But back at home, in Kenya, my native country, we have this expectation that on the wedding card there is always a scripture verse chosen by the couple to-be, as their wedding motto. Of the many wedding cards I have come across, I did notice that many couples chose the above scripture for their new marriage covenant. And for many reasons than not, I DO LOVE THIS SCRIPTURE VERSE. For one, it is a scripture more husband-directed than wife. Secondly, its a scripture that comes with two sure declarations from the Lord: A GOOD THING AND FAVOR.

A wife is a GOOD THING….because she is a gift from God to man.

Genesis 2:18 The Lord God said, “It is NOT GOOD for man to be alone. I will make a HELPER suitable for him.”

A wife is GOOD THING….because she came from man.

Genesis 2:22 Then the Lord God made woman from the rib he had taken OUT OF THE MAN, and he brought her to the man.

A wife brings FAVOR.…because there is strength in unity.

Genesis 2:24 For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be UNITED to his wife, and they will become ONE flesh.

A wife brings FAVOR.….because there is supply in cooperation.

Ecclesiastes 4:9 Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work;

A wife brings FAVOR....because there is power in agreement.

Amos 3:3 Do two walk together unless they have agreed to do so?

A wife brings FAVOR...because there is intimacy in companionship.

1 Corinthians 7:5 Do not deprive each other except for mutual consent and for a time, so that you may devote yourselves to prayer. Then COME TOGETHER AGAIN so that Satan will not tempt you because of your lack of self-control.

Husband, in case you have forgotten that SHE comes with a package, it might be time for you to refresh yourself. God loves your wife and He wants you to love her as well!

Watch out: SHE COMES WITH FAVOR

Malachi 2:13-14 Another thing you do: You flood the Lord’s altar with tears. You weep and wail because he no longer pays attention to your offerings or accepts them with pleasure from your hands. You ask, ‘Why?” It is because the Lord is acting as a witness between you and the wife of your youth, because you have broken faith with her, though she is your partner, the wife of YOUR MARRIAGE COVENANT.

God is waiting on you, my friend!

God bless you.

20 thoughts on “WARNING: SHE COMES WITH FAVOR

  1. Great Message,
    I have never looked at this angle to marriage before. You quote scripture that I didn’t recall and was a blessing to hear. Thanks Gladwell for all the great thoughts you pass our way.
    God Bless
    Jim

    • Jim,

      Most of these scriptures are quickened in my Spirit…as I start writing on a topic. At best, I cannot proud myself as one who is scriptural sound. It is just the Lord’s workings through me, a simple vessel. God bless you and enrich and solidify your marriage!

      Gladwell

  2. I hadn’t thought that deeply of the ways of favor a wife could bring. My beloved is still not that sure I’m a good thing! ha! God bless you today and always! deb

    • Deb,

      I will remember to mention that to HIM! But…remember, God knows your true worth and that is the best place to begin. My love to you and your family!

      Gladwell

  3. Thank you Gladwell, How are you doing…my sweet friend if faith? You explain it so well. Though honored and loved by my sweet husband…I intend to post these scriptures around my house…in the kitchen, laundry room and someplace else. It’s a great reminder for all of us! I love it! 🙂

    • Laine,

      I am fine and blessed in Him. I am glad to hear that your marriage is FULL and BLESSED! God is faithful…and His Word gives reminders us of our worth in Him and as godly wives/husbands to find and honor each other in our marriage covenant. I can only imagine your house echoing back God’s favor upon your life. I love what you are planning to do!

      Love and blessings,

      Gladwell

  4. Gladwell,

    This is very well put together and should give pause to both husbands and wives…. The divorce rate is on the rise and I feel it is because people no longer trust in God’s word, like they should…. Without the love of God to share and strengthen them on their way, traveling through this world can get pretty rough — especially considering the loose morals portrayed in so much of the media….. Thank you for posting this.

    Margaret

    • Margaret,

      It is true. The media often portrays that marriage/wife/husband relationships as outdated and out of touch with modern society. But…marriage was and is still as relevant now as it were when God brought Eve to Adam in the garden. My prayer is that church ought to address marriage and family issues more frequently instead to coming in only to solve in some problems when they occur. Thank you for your thoughtful observations.

      God bless you!

      Gladwell

  5. Gladwell,
    Thank you for reminding us husbands what a blessing we have right in our own homes that we don’t require to seek one outside. My wife is certainly God’s gift to me and she certainlys brings me favor from the Lord. Bless you for sharing this timely message.
    Vineet

    • Vineet,

      You better love her…each and everyday….because life is short and each moment counts. Be faithful and loyal to her…and above all, be her biggest fan!

      May the Lord enrich your marriage today…and everyday!

      Gladwell

  6. There was a time when I thought of that verse that in the back of my mind I would think, ‘because we need it’. Not any more though . . . well maybe every now and then. 🙂

    If divorce had been an option we would have surely taken it, but when it is not, you figure out a way to make it work. We have and it is good.

    • Mike,

      Thank you…that’s a full mouth right there. I thank God that He did not give us divorce as an option….hence, we have to dig deeper and make it work. Marriage is a good thing! God bless you, my brother!

      Gladwell

  7. Gladwell – This is a wonderful post — great scriptural reminders of God’s image and plan for marriage. As my post yesterday reflected, the words associated with marriage in the media and even books about marriage are loaded with negative connotations. –Godspeed, Elizabeth

    • Elizabeth,

      No matter what the media says, one thing is for sure, marriage is a POWERHOUSE incomparable to any other. Its the place that God dwells in, in His fullest! If only…we would have Him…stay for good!

      Thank you and God bless,

      Gladwell

Leave a Reply

