MY HEART IS SOBER

Psalm 131:1-2 My heart is not proud, O Lord, my eyes are not haughty; I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me. But I HAVE STILLED AND QUIETEN MY SOUL; like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me.

Let me say here. I DO NOT HAVE A CLUE WHAT AWAITS ME TOMORROW….but that doesn’t bother me. You see, my family and I are in the process of preparing to move elsewhere. If anything, we ought to be up and tight trying to figure out how things will play out in the coming weeks and months. If anything, I ought to be pushing and shoving…and putting my agenda before God, asking that things should be as rosy and merry and yes, as smooth sailing as it would be possible. But no. The opposite has in fact, happened. Suddenly, even though I cannot tell why, I AM UNCONCERNED ABOUT THE DETAILS. I AM UNMOVED AT THE REPORT. Instead, MY HEART IS SOBER. I sleep like a baby; my day play out as if nothing is about to change in our lives; my family functions as normal as it has over the last five years.
And yes, my heart, OUR HEARTS ARE SOBER. We are steadfast because WE ARE ESTABLISHED IN HIM.

I don’t know what are the circumstances in your life. But God wants you to find REST in the finished work at the cross. God wants you to find PEACE in the promise of a future which is good and full of hope. God wants you to know LOVE which does not alter or change with the circumstances. God wants you to KNOW that He is A GOOD FATHER who has the best in mind for His BELOVED CHILDREN.

GOD WANTS YOUR HEART SOBER;

Matthew 11:28-30 ‘Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will GIVE YOU REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am GENTLE and HUMBLE in heart and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is EASY and my burden is LIGHT.”

So…as for now, my yoke is EASIER and my burden is LIGHTER…because I have found rest in Him….for MY NOW, and MY FUTURE…and beyond time, for MY ETERNITY.

COME. HE IS WAITING FOR YOU!!!!

20 thoughts on “MY HEART IS SOBER

  1. Gladwell,
    You’ve encouraged me so much! Thank you! I love this verse, and meditate on it often, when the world seems too big–too difficult and too great.

    I will keep your family in prayer during the changes ahead. We too are going through some ‘waves of change’, but God remains faithful and quiets our souls.

    Your insightful post reminds me of the great hymn, Be Still My Soul:

    Be still, my soul:
    the Lord is on thy side.
    Bear patiently
    the cross of grief or pain.
    Leave to thy God
    to order and provide;
    In every change,
    He faithful will remain.
    Be still, my soul:
    thy best, thy heavenly Friend
    Through thorny ways
    leads to a joyful end.

    2. Be still, my soul:
    thy God doth undertake
    To guide the future,
    as He has the past.
    Thy hope, thy confidence
    let nothing shake;
    All now mysterious
    shall be bright at last.
    Be still, my soul:
    the waves and winds
    still know His voice
    Who ruled them
    while He dwelt below.

    Amen! Love and prayers, Linda

    • Linda,

      Oh….that’s so kind of you, and this song brought tears to my eyes. I thank God for friends like you. Yes, I had to go through the valley of the shadow of death, but now….it is getting brighter and at last…I will seen the GOODNESS OF THE LORD IN THE LAND OF THE LIVING. I pray that you and your family will find peace even during this time of shaking for you!

      Blessings and love,

      Gladwell

  2. Hi Gladwell,

    It is so good and important to remember that God does, indeed, love us very dearly….. That can be hard to feel during intensely difficult times, and we might cry out like David did in the Psalms….. Yet, in each Psalm where David expresses deep anguish, he also praises the Lord and remembers the Lord’s lovingkindness…..

    It is only as we remember God’s love for us that we can have the peace and rest we need….. Now, this evening, it is time for me to again go to Him and rest in His everlasting love.

    Margaret

    • Margaret,

      Amen. I pray that you will rest in His Peace…not only for each evening but even throughout the busyness of life itself. Thank you for stopping by and may the Lord bless you.

      Gladwell

  3. I love your heart in this, that is stayed on Him . . .no matter what. (and it’s happening again. Soon I will post something that goes along with this, already written before I read this. ) God bless you and yours and your move! deb

  4. Gladwell,

    I’m also in a similar situation Gladwell…I do not know about the future…or my next step…but even then to expereince His peace and be sober about everything is a blessing that God has given us…I do not say that I’m hundred percent peaceful…but when I’m not at rest…I run to Him and His WORDS alone will give me the strength.
    Like a child in his mother’s lap…I find rest in Him..

    Thank you for assuring me about a God who quietens my soul.

    God Bless,
    Rani

    • Rani,

      I know what you are talking about here. At times, it has been like that for me. But for now, even if I would like to worry, my heart refused to be moved. It is a new experience….A KNOWING, WITHOUT KNOWING…yet still KNOWING. I simply cannot put it any better. Its a peace of the SETTLEMENT which I never experienced before. I hope and pray like me, you and many out there will enter into this place of rest.

      God bless and keep you as you wait on HIM!

      Gladwell

  5. Gladwell,
    Thanks for these words of faith; it has been a confirmation to me. I have been unemployed for over a year, my funds have been exhausted and there has been no response to the many resumes that I have sent out. In the natural I see only one month of funds left to survive on, however in my spirit I hear the voice of the Lord telling me to “Trust Him”.
    Romans 9:33 and Proverbs 3:5-6; in the word of God has been so comforting to me during this time in my life. You are right when you say that He is a Good Father. For He (God) Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you, nor give you up, nor leave you with out support. I will not, I will not in any degree leave you helpless, nor forsake, nor let you down (relax my hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]
    Hebrews 13:5-6 (Amplified Bible)
    Praise The Lord!!
    I will take Him at His word

    Remain Bless,
    Sylvia

    • Sylvia,

      I stand with you, in prayer and faith believing in the One who promised is faithful to do it! Sylvia….STAND AND SEE THE SALVATION OF THE LORD….I hear Him saying this on your behalf. PRAISE HIM…HE IS COMING!

      Love and blessings as you wait!

      Gladwell

  6. My heart is sober as well…

    For many months now, I’ve been at peace with the process of our impending move. The closer we’ve gotten to moving day, the more chaotic the details, but even in them, I’m not worried about the end result. I’m trusting God with it all; my today, my tomorrow, my forever. I think, perhaps, my faith is growing in a way I never imagined, and it feels good.

    I am content, sister, and I’m so glad to have a friend like you who “gets it!”

    May peace continue to rule in your heart and mine~elaine

    • Elaine,

      I hear your testimony. I hear your echo. I hear your heart. I know…as you move…the cloud of Glory will also move with you. You will be surprised….GREATLY SURPRISED at what God has in store for you and your family on the other side. Stay put, my friend. IT WILL BE WELL!

      Love and hugs,

      Gladwell

  7. Gladwell,
    Our comfort is in Him, the one who sent His Son for us, the one who causes the sun to rise, not in things material, but in what is Spiritual. To Him, we are like sheep being led, it doesn’t matter where we are going, but that we are being led. God Bless
    Jim

    • Jim,

      Yes, its true….I FEEL HIS LEADING…and that’s why I am at REST…while I let Him navigate the way to the destiny He has in store for me and my family. Thank you for your kind words. My heart is constantly uplifted by the love of my brothers and sisters in the Lord.

      God bless and keep you always!

      Gladwell

  8. HI Gladwell! This is such an on time message! As I wait for the “temporary” job that God is sending…I have resolved myself that “He knows” and I trust Him to take care of all matters big and small.

    It is my desire as I know it is your to walk in His perfect will!

    Your story reminds me of a Big move in my past.

    For 10 years, I asked my husband if we could move to a safer place to raise our children with better schools and more opportunities. To us, it would be an adventure, a new frontier. It was my desire. My husband always said: “No.”

    In fact, we had no money to move.

    We needed almost $30,000 and this was 20 years ago!

    One day my husband changed his mind. He came home one day and began to pack. All of our things were packed and marked for two years. Like you are doing…we told everyone that we were moving.

    We had to sell our house though there wasn’t much profit from it.

    No one who came to see it liked it though it was spotless and beautiful…it had a flaw. It only had 2 bedrooms.

    In that neighborhood everyone wanted 3 bedrooms!

    Well one day God sent 3 people in one day who wanted to buy it. One of them did.

    We then needed the money. God began to send it from everywhere. It was a SWEATLESS VICTORY!!

    That is what God wants for you and your family Gladwell! Prepare yourselves for it! Love Lanie

    • Elaine,

      Thank you as ever for your constant words of wisdom and encouragement to me. I love it when I hear your testimony of the Lord’s doing in your life. That you do not fall of acknowledge His doing in your life in good and bad times. I will remember what He has done for you…as I wait for Him…in this season of my life. He is the God who owns cattle on a thousands hills! I do hope and pray that you will get that job and good pay and yes, favor into the next season the Lord has in store for you. You are the best!

      Love and hugs,

      Gladwell

  9. Gladwell – What a great testimony of your trust in God. The peace that comes only from knowing Him and trusting Him fully is beyond words. Thank you for sharing this today, even in the busy-ness of preparing to move to a new place. –Godspeed, Elizabeth

    • Elizabeth,

      Thank you, my friend. I have seen His Faithfulness over the years and I know I can trust Him fully…even when I do not fully understand. So…like a child, I rest in my Father’s hands. And I know you and many out there desires to find that rest as well.

      God bless you.

      Gladwell

  10. Gladwell, thank you for reminding us to rest in God. I love these verses you shared, and your post reminds me of another verse that talks about “in quietness and confidence will be your strength.”

    Praise God for His amazing peace in your hearts, and I pray trusting His good plans for your family, whatever they may be.

    • Janet,

      Thank you…and yes, that word is perfect for the season. IN QUIETNESS AD CONFIDENCE WILL BE MY STRENGTH. Praise the Lord. I know He has done it…and I will see His Salvation.

      Love and blessings your way.

      Gladwell

Leave a Reply

