A HANDSOME MAN FORGOTTEN

Genesis 39:6-7… Now Joseph was WELL-BUILT and HANDSOME, and after a while his master’s wife took notice of Joseph and said, “Come to bed with me!”

Genesis 40:23 The chief cupbearer, however, did not REMEMBER Joseph; he FORGOT him.

You are a Godly young man…hardworking, handsome and yes, a visionary with the future before you. The favorite of your father among many brothers. Your daddy makes you a coat of many colors which makes your stand out among the crowd. But the worst part of it all is you love to dream…and retell your dreams to a not very enthusiastic audience. YOUR NAME IS JOSEPH.

And while from the outside, everything seems to be going well, things are brewing from the inside. Before you know it…you are a SLAVE in a foreign country. But while you are not free…the things of nature still take their course. Oh…YOU ARE NOW A FINE HANDSOME YOUNG MAN…and a married woman cannot resist you. But you have not changed a bit. Your values are still intact. But this time, from the outside, everything seems to be going wrong, but things from the inside are unusual calm. Before you know it….you are a PRISONER paying for a crime you never committed. But while you are not free…the things of God take their purposed cause. Oh…YOU ARE NOW AN INTERPRETER OF DREAM…and a cupbearer is restored to his position. But your position is unchanged. Your existence is soon FORGOTTEN.

Think about this: To the unmarried single, just like Joseph, we have our days of youth where we have dreams and aspirations or visions of what we would desire for be in the future. We talk about them with our parents, siblings and friends. Then we move on into adulthood. Some of us, make a grand careers and settle down and for most…it is basically a struggle to make end meets. You date for sometime but none seem to lead down to the altar. But somehow, you gather the courage to move on. And even through you feel like a prisoner not of your own making, in a most amazing, you see the hand of God working in you as you touch others lives. But your SINGLE-HOOD STATUS remains the same. No-one even notices that you are a woman/man!

But wait a minute. Are you really forgotten?

God never forgets His children. Yes, because once I was a SLAVE TO LOVE. I wanted love so bad that I almost compromised my values. But God was there…helping me through. Then when I was no longer looking from love, I felt like a PRISONER trapped within my inner desires yet…I moved on with what the Lord has assigned for me. I did my work faithfully in hope that someday, HE WOULD REMEMBER!

And He did. Like Joseph…most of the time, when God finally comes to meet that need of a life partner…it is usually with conjunction with meeting the need of another. Marriage is not just about YOU and YOUR PARTNER. Marriage is about the PURPOSE, the DREAM, the VISION and the BODY OF CHRIST as a whole.

My friends, stay put…HE WILL REMEMBER!

8 thoughts on “A HANDSOME MAN FORGOTTEN

  1. Rani said:

    “Keep writing my sister because you never know..You might be speaking out someone else’ answer from God.”

    Yes, he’s right. Your post spoke to me. Yesterday, a friend of mine who is happily married to a pastor asked me if I was praying for God’s best for me, and I said Yes. and she said, “Do you want us to be prayer partners on that?” 🙂

    And now, I stumbled upon your post and I am relieved to be reminded again that God will remember me. I love this:

    “And He did. Like Joseph…most of the time, when God finally comes to meet that need of a life partner…it is usually with conjunction with meeting the need of another.”

    Thanks, Gladwell.

    Ruth

  2. Thank you SO much for this post! I can’t articulate how perfectly it matched what I needed to hear right now. God bless you many times over. Have a blessed day!

    Eden

  3. Gladwell,

    I am amazed at the ways God works in our lives..Today morning, before reading your blog, I was really upset about something and was thinking about all those times I was ‘FORGOTTEN’. I was asking Lord whats the use of all those times I have labored and not seen any results…people have forgotten those incidents too…My answer was through your blog, Gladwell. Even before me asking that question, God inspired you to write my answer…Oh…what a wonderful God we serve!!

    His answer is ‘HE WILL REMEMBER’…And you dont know how much I’m grateful for that wonderful post..

    Keep writing my sister because you never know..You might be speaking out someone else’ answer from God.

    God Bless,
    Rani

    • Amen Rani,

      I am so glad…it this one was meant just for you…then I am more than grateful. Yes…what a wonderful God we serve! Don’t give up, my sister. I read a poem today on another blog and what touched me the most was these words…MAY I NEVER GET TOO BUSY TO HELP ANOTHER TO BEAR THEIR LOAD. I will be remembering this. Let us press on…in HIM!

      God bless you too!

      Gladwell

Leave a Reply

