DANGEROUS VENTURES

Psalm 107:23-30 OTHERS went out on the SEA IN SHIPS; they were merchants on the mighty waters, They saw the works of the Lord, his wonderful deeds in the deep. For he spoke and stirred up a TEMPEST that lifted high the waves. They mounted up to the heavens and went down to the depths; in the peril their courage melted away. They reeled and staggered like drunken men; they were at THEIR WITS’ END. Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble, and he brought them out of their distress. He stilled the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea were hushed. THEY WERE GLAD WHEN IT GREW CALM AND HE GUIDED THEM INTO THEIR DESIRED HAVEN.

We all go through times and phases in our lives when we have to VENTURE into something in order to accomplish or reach a DESIRED END. And while this is true in every area of our lives, there are ventures whereby before we set out to accomplish, we need to carefully sit down and calculated the risks against the gains and weigh out the scales appropriately. That’s what all business people do. But, I am not talking about business…but rather about life – YOUR LIFE!

How often do you sit down and calculate before you set out to reach your desired end? Some of us do, but for most, we set out with our miscalculations and no rescue plans in place. Oh, we pat ourselves at the back with the words, ‘WE WILL MANAGE’ whatever comes our way. And for a while, things seem to be manageable, until that unexpected undercurrent becomes a full scale storm. Sudden, all wisdom fails you at every turn. Maybe, this speaks of you: your marriage is on the rocks, your child is on drugs, your business partner has deserted you leaving behind debts or whatever else you may be facing.

Let me tell you…every venture of life is A DANGEROUS VENTURE. Marriage is a dangerous venture; Parenting is a dangerous venture; Money business is a dangerous venture; People and relationships are dangerous ventures. The truth is…without God’s full involvement in our LIFE VENTURES, the danger will eventually overcome and overtake us. But for the Christian, God is saying…TAKE ME WITH YOU IN YOUR VENTURES. Why, because…not matter how dangerous things can get, He has the ability to quieten the storms of life.

My friend, let him calm the storms in your life venture…and GUIDE YOU HOME…to your desired end. HE IS FAITHFUL.

12 thoughts on “DANGEROUS VENTURES

  1. If I had calculated all my costs up front, I’m pretty sure I would have skipped marriage and parenting! Thankfully, I count them now and realize all I would have missed had I not jumped in… in faith and trusting God with the peripheral rest of it. How grateful I am for his joining me on the road of grace and for keeping me in line when I step off course.

    peace~elaine

  2. I am one of those “jump off the cliff” guys, hoping (and believing) all things will turn out well. Now, my wife needs a few more confirmations before jumping with me…but she always jumps.

    Just two different personalities trusting God and hoping for His perfect timing.

  3. Our need to control our destiny forever counters with God’s desire to help us and so the battle rages on and on. Everytime we fall, are picked up by Him and put back on our feet, we seem to run into another pit and need his help again. Why don’t we learn and grow in our dependance on God? Thank you Gladwell for this wonderful reminder. I pray that my family and I will always submit our plans before God and obey his leading.

  4. Hi Gladwell! Congratulations on receiving The Sunshine Award! I am in the process of creating my own as I work with various software…to celebrate Cafe Sozo reaching 36 months (long ones) or three years (short ones>) lol Love E

  5. Hi Gladwell! You know God has truly Blessed you with an on time word. You see, I’ve been dealing with “dangerous ventures” for the last two weeks and I will NOT be no longer…traumatized trying to get in there a fix things! I’m giving it ALL to God!

    He can take the pressure. I can’t. Thanks Love E

  6. Every venture–not just the ventures we choose. I know that sometimes I am “selective” about letting God in and trying to do things on my own. Thank goodness His reminds me of his presence . . . through His creation, His word, and His followers—like you!

  7. So true. We must acknowlege Him in ALL that we do [Proverbs 3:6]. It makes a huge difference. Thanks for sharing and reminding us that we can ALWAYS count on Him. Have a wonderful weekend. Peace~

  8. Gladwell,
    Again such words of wisdom. God needs to accompany us in every corner of our lives. God MUST be involved in everything, that is the difference between just living and living with blessing. Thank you for this!
    Jim

Leave a Reply

