A NAGGING WIFE?

Proverbs 21:9 Better to live on a corner of the roof than share a house with a QUARRELSOME WIFE.

Proverbs 27:15-16 A QUARRELSOME WIFE is like a constant dripping on a rainy day; restraining her is like restraining the wind or grasping oil in the hand.

A quarrelsome wife? OR in other words…A NAGGER!

Nag means to scold or annoy CONSTANTLY; to be a CONSTANT source of discomfort or worry; a person, especially a woman, who nags.

Before I start, I need to say this. Do I scold or annoy my husband? That is if you would like to know. YES, I DO!!! But with this difference, I don’t nag him CONSTANTLY. Why, because…I might end up losing him for good.

Here is an example…a personal witness. There are a couple I know, unmarried but living together with three little children. The lady, I can say is an acquaintance. So, one day I ask her why they don’t want to get married and her answers are vague and evasive. It so happens that her partner comes home and as he joins in the conversation, I ask him the same question. WHY DON’T YOU WANT TO LEGALIZE YOUR RELATIONSHIP? His answer is straightforward. ‘I AM NOT GOING TO MARRY A NAGGING WOMAN.’ I sit there stunned into silence for a long time.

Many months after that conversation, I still wonder what he really meant by ‘A NAGGING WOMAN’ yet deep down in my heart, I know he is not alone. Many good marriages are destroyed by the seemingly harmless seam of constant nagging. A husband who once looked forward to return home after a day’s work, now finds every excuse to stay longer at work or suddenly gathers interest in activities outside his home. The signs that things are going wrong maybe blind to a nagging wife until it is already too late.

But what is the cure for nagging?

WISDOM: Proverbs 14:1 A WISE WOMAN builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.

LOVE:1 Peter 4:8 Above all LOVE EACH OTHER deeply because love covers a multitude of sins.

RESPECT: Titus 2:4-5 Then they can train the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be SELF-CONTROLLED and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be SUBJECT TO THEIR HUSBANDS, so that no-one will malign the word of God.

Are you a nagging but Christian wife? There is hope for you, and your marriage. Above all, remember there is someone watching your preaching through your living…that SOMEONE is your CHILDREN. Give them a good example.

9 thoughts on “A NAGGING WIFE?

  1. A nagging wife will rot the bones, kill the spirit and dry up any creative thinking. She will drive a man into the desert to free his mind of the constant drip. She will torture him slowly and he will die a slow painful death

  2. My wife is a great hostess, extremely clean,
    generous and hard working. But, to live with
    her is a hell on earth because she constantly
    nag about the past mistakes, and worry about
    the future, and cry about her money. She hardly
    will say even once in a month ” God has taken
    care of us in the past and He will take care of
    his in the future”. But, she talks about her
    money, and she seems like in total control of
    her destiny. I am just the opposite and I have
    seen so many miracles in life, so trusting in
    God’s provision in times of need. The business
    is crashed, no regular income, and everything is
    in a disarry, but I keep my cool, simply trusting
    in God’s last minute deliverance.

    When I travel or stay at home with my wife,
    I feel very tight in my head and try to be
    isolated. Though we are married for 36
    years, the last 10 years of married life was
    totally living in hell.

  3. This is absolutely amazing and interesting as well to a point that definately makes me continue maturing over what really is required to have a successfull marriage.

    • Japheth,

      I am glad you stopped by to comment. Yes, marriage is a place of growth from one glory to another…and each phase of marriage brings with challenges but also great rewards. If you stay faithful…your marriage will not only be a success but a witness to the goodness of the Lord! Glory to His Name!

      Blessings and may the Lord bless your marriage,

      Gladwell

  4. Gladwell,

    Thats a beautiful thought…I read somewhere that married life is like a crystal ball..a small drop will end up in shattered pieces…How often should we ask for those three things of life…LOVE, WISDOM, RESPECT..Thank you Gladwell

    God Bless,
    Rani John

Leave a Reply

