THE STOCK MARKET AND YOUR FAITH

2 Corinthians 10:4-5 For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down of strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing EVERY THOUGHT INTO CAPTIVITY to the OBEDIENCE OF CHRIST.

There are two words I have noticed that seem to dominate the Stock Market language: RESPOND and REACT.

React means to act in an opposing or contrary manner; to exert an equal force in the opposite direction to an acting force.

Respond means to react favorably.

Hence, when we hear that the Stock Market reacted, it simply means they made more losses than gains. But on the other hand, when the word respond is used, it means the prices of the shares shot up sharply. The most amazing thing about the Stock Market is, there is no guarantee of tomorrow. What you have today, may not necessary be what you will wake up to the next day. That said, the stock market does not act as an independent body, but rather is heavily influenced by the circumstances from without. In other words, there are no standard rules in the stock market world.

However, faith in God works differently. Unlike the stock market, faith does not react or respond according to external circumstances. Faith is CONSTANT. Faith is SURE. Faith gives you GUARANTEE of the end result. Faith causes one to ASSIMILATE with the one who is the AUTHOR AND THE FINISHER OF OUR FAITH.

Until six months ago, my family and I led a relatively quiet life, minding our own business. Then without warning, one storm after another began rocking our world, our security and sense of stability. There were tears, and questions and doubts. Like the Stock Market world, we reacted or respond according to the circumstances without in an effort to protect our sanity.

Then at the beginning of this week, I began hearing the Lord putting into my heart these words;

‘THE CIRCUMSTANCES WITHOUT HAVE NOT CHANGED NOR CANNOT ALTER MY PROMISE TO YOU. IT IS YOU WHO NEED TO CONFORM.’ In other words, it is I, who needs to pull down strongholds, cast down arguments and all lofty thoughts which says that God is unable to bring His promises to pass based on the circumstances we are facing. Friend, trust me on this one…it is not easy but it is possible. I am taking one step a time towards bringing EVERY THOUGHT into captivity to the obedience of Christ so that I may lay hold of what He has in store for me and my family.

I don’t know where you are in your faith walk but I do know that when you conform and become ONE MINDED IN CHRIST…the circumstances without will have no power over you.

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is being SURE of what we hope for, and CERTAIN of what we do not see.

16 thoughts on “THE STOCK MARKET AND YOUR FAITH

  1. Wow! You truly KNOW AND understand FAITH is simple TRUST in the promises and ability of God. It has nothing to do with us. But it has ALL to do with whether or not God can be TRUSTED. And once we KNOW He can be TRUSTED…we have FAITH. God NEVER changes. His soveriegnty and GOOD never changes. His justice and ‘mysterious ways’ never change. When we TRUST, we are not swayed by what we SEE. We just TRUST that GOD IS ABLE and that His WILL IS PERFECT. It is in that TRUST that we have ‘PEACE THAT PASSETH UNDERSTANDING.’ It is in that TRUST/FAITH that we have REST. After all….where is the struggle?? ‘THE BATTLE IS THE LORD’S.’ He is the JUDGE. Where is the conflict. The warfare is against ‘SPIRITUAL WICKEDNESS IN HIGH PLACES’ where only He has AUTHORITY.

    Ps 18:2 The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.

    Ps 91:2 I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.

    Ps 91:3 Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.

    Ps 91:5 Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day;

    Ps 91:6 Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday.

    Ps 91:7 A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.

    Ps 91:11 For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

    AND I HAVE SEEN MY GUARDIAN ANGEL TWICE.

    Carolyn

  2. I like how David Yongi Cho explains faith. He says that our personal faith raises and falls with the upheavals of life until God speaks and His faith comes in and strengthens us so that we can continue our journeys.

    Cho’s explanation describes my faith walk to a tee.

    • Wow. Thats powerful. We all need that faith that says…it is not about how we are believing, but who we are believing. Thanks Larry. I do appreciate your insightful encouragement as we journey along in Him.

      Blessings as always,

      Gladwell

  3. Amen sister,

    Keep your eyes and feet toward Jesus and like Peter, you too can walk on the stormy sea! Oh may you know His precious compassion at this time.

    love in Jesus precious and worthy name,
    Matthew

  4. Gladwell,
    I really liked the way you explained about your having to conform to God’s will. So often we look at God through our eyes rather than look at ourselves through God’s eyes. When doing the latter it is easier to conform to the Christ follower he has intended us to be. Thank you for blessing us with your writings, I have subscribed.
    God bless you and yours!

  5. In my research with writing my new work, I came across two words that speak the essence of Hebrews 11:1 in the ESV study notes…

    “settled confidence”

    Thus, I ask myself frequently (and God does as well), have I settled the matter regarding my confidence? Where am I placing my faith/trust this day?

    Jesus is the only certainty of our lives. I’m settling my confidence on him. You?

    Great thoughts. By the way, this verse from Corinthians is our focus verse this week from our Bible study on have a “thought closet makeover.”

    peace~elaine

    • Wow. I would love to hear about the ‘thought closet makeover’ at some point. Settled confidence…meaning unmovable or unshaken. That is powerful. I am settling my confidence in Him, not only today but everyday.

      Blessings as always,

      Gladwell

  6. That makes for an excellent prayer: “Lord, may we as Christians conform to your way and will, and become ONE MINDED IN CHRIST. Amen.” Fantastic post. I will definitely put you on my blogroll. Take care and God bless.

    • He is doing a deep work in me, my sister. Call it a sifting at the threshing floor. But yes…the end result will be as He promised. I am glad you find consolation and encouragement through my humanly crafted words with the Spirit of God.

  7. Hey Buddy! Thank you for the words of assurance! I came in from prayer and saw your message and I twas pretty excited to get to read it; but family wanted a big breakfast…smiles…so now ahh I am relaxing a doing my readings and meditations. This is refreshing.

    My friend Tina says that when the enemy comes with “thoughts” …she says…”That’s not my though- I cast that down!” That has been so helpful to me.

    He is the thought changer…but the word says cast it down.

    That’s a faith move…that’s being sure…that reactionary thought to what we believe God for…that’s the one to watch out for!

    CAST IT DOWN!!!

    Thanks Gladwell! Love E

    • I am, Elaine. That’s why I am here…not allowing any thought to hold me captive especially that which is hidden for me in Christ. So, my sister….WATCH THIS SPACE because my great testimony is coming!!!!

Leave a Reply

