LIP SERVICE

Proverbs 6:16-19 There are six things the Lord hates, seven that are detestable to him:
haughty eyes, A LYING TONGUE, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil, a false witness who pours out lies and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers.

I like this Polish proverb that says, ‘LIES HAVE SHORT LEGS.’ And yet, we live in a world where lying is at times glorified as a lesser evil. We flatter, we praise, we honor or even worship…that is offer our LIP SERVICE in order to gain an advantage or not to seem the odd one out. But the word of God is very clear about LIP SERVICE. In fact, GOD HATES LIP SERVICE, be it towards Him or from man to his fellow man. Countless times, there is mention of it in His word.

Isaiah 29:14 The Lord says: “These people come near to me with their mouth and HONOR ME WITH THEIR LIPS but theirs hearts are far from me. Their WORSHIP of me is made up only of rules taught by men.

Proverbs 23:7 For he is the kind of man who is always thinking about the cost. ‘EAT AND DRINK,” he SAYS to you, but his heart is not with you.

Psalm 12:2 Everyone LIES to his neighbor; their FLATTERING LIPS speak with deception.

Matthew 7:21 ‘Not everyone WHO SAYS to me, “Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.

James 3:9 With the tongue we PRAISE our Lord and Father, and with it we CURSE men, who have been made in God’s likeness.

And there is a sure end for those who practise LIP SERVICE;

Revelation 22: 14-15 Blessed are those who wash their robes, that they may go through the gates into the city. Outside are the dogs, those who practise magic arts, the sexually immoral, the murderers, the idolaters and EVERYONE WHO LOVES AND PRACTISE FALSEHOOD.

You have a choice!

11 thoughts on “LIP SERVICE

  1. Excellent post Gladwell and so very true. The tongue is a dangerous weapon, we are reminded in God’s Word. And also you will recall Jesus’ very pointed anger (communicated in every Gospel) at the pharisees who speak one way, praising themselves for their “obedience” to the Jewish laws, and yet act another way entirely. Their words and their actions do not match, and I feel that lip service can also be about DOING what we say and SAYING what we do, and not being hypocrits.

    A delight to read and be inspired by you.

    In Christ, Gina
    xx

    • Hi Gina. Yes…its true, our walk has to reflect our talk otherwise, we will just be a bunch of good religious people with no fruit. Thanks for your additional thoughts on this topic. You are blessed.

      Gladwell

  2. Wonderful post….good word!!

    One of my fav scriptures…Psalm 19:14
    Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, Oh Lord!

    Thank you for the reminder that our heart must be a heart of integrity that desires only to speak and do what is acceptable and pleasing to the Lord!

    Also, I was blessed by reading some of your older posts! I’ll be back for more of what the Holy Spirit has been stirring within your heart!

    Sweet Blessings!
    Jackie

  3. Wow! I repent Father! Please create a clean heart within in me and renew a right spirit of integrity within me. Please forgive me if I’ve missed it. Heal me O Lord and I shall be healed.

    Thanks Gladwell…I will spend time meditating on this. Love Elaine

    P.S. Rick Renner spoke at our church Sunday…he came from Russia and he used the exact same scriptures from Proverbs 6!

    His message was: Characteristics That Make A Person Usable in the Hands of God!

    Wow..for your message to hit his like that…proves “that he that is joined to the Lord is one spirit.”

    Thanks for an on time message! I’ll watch my lips..(and thoughts)

    • For the most part, I write because that is the only way I can preach to myself and allow the Lord to search my heart. We all need Him more as each day goes by. I am encouraged to God on by all of you. God bless.

      Gladwell

Leave a Reply

