THE NEGLECTED BUNCH

Isaiah 54: 1-2 “Sing, O barren woman, you who never bore a child; burst into song, shout for joy, you who were never in labour; because more are the children of the desolate woman than of her who has a husband,” says the Lord
ENLARGE THE PLACE OF YOUR TENT, stretch your tent curtains wide, DO NO HOLD BACK lengthen your cords, strengthen your stakes.

Single-hood is the most neglected topic on the Christian church agenda. Why, because being single is seen as the WAIT AND SEE period in a young adult’s life. Of course, there is expectation that with time, you will finally hook up with someone and the wedding bells will ring. But truth be said, that’s not always the case. At times, it takes longer and longer for this to come to be. At best, the church is equipped to meet the needs of the waiting 20 something year olds, in college or fresh from college starting out on their careers. Then they hit their 30s but still, nothing. The programs to reach out to this bunch become few and few. And hence with time…THE SILENCE begins. By keeping quiet, the Christian community hopes against hope that things will soon work out by themselves.

From my own experience, I remember how excited I used to get every time there was some preaching about singles and the preparation for marriage. And of course, privately, I read dozens of books on single-hood and marriage alike, with the hope that, armed with this knowledge, things could only get easier. But no, they didn’t. The waiting got tougher. Every time I heard a sermon on single-hood and marriage, it no longer seemed to apply for me.

And while, it easy to preach a sermon…as you look around, you start realizing that men of your age in your church community are getting few and few. Before you know it, all your friends are gone and of course, you start becoming a threat to their own relationships. AND THE NEGLECT DEEPENS. I was there. I know the pain. I know that sense of feeling out of place. I know it all.

But, I also know this…The LORD, the one who knows your going out and your coming in. The ONE, who sees the irking in your heart every time you hear someone much younger than you preparing for their wedding. And yes, the ONE who sees the unshed tears, every time you see a young mother having a playful time with their toddlers, He had not forgotten. In fact, He is saying;

SING…I WANT TO HEAR YOUR VOICE ABOVE THE NOISE
SHOUT…I WANT TO HEAR YOUR JOY ABOVE THE JEER

You can’t hold back. ENLARGE, STRETCH, LENGTHEN AND STRENGTHEN. It takes time my dear to do all this, but in MY TIME, yes…when I come, YOU WILL DISPOSSESS NATIONS AND SETTLE IN THEIR DESOLATE CITIES.

If you feel neglected, this one is for you, big time. Blessings as always,

Gladwell

4 thoughts on “THE NEGLECTED BUNCH

  1. HI Gladwell! Wow! This helps so much because I know so many single people who are believing God for a Godly mate. I’ve noted through the years that expecting your mate to be Godly…takes even longer. I married young so I don’t understand fully. But, I will say that I had a lot of heartbreak before that.

    Our church is having a huge singles Conference in March. Right now they are having Wed night bible study in one sanctuary for singles and a separate one for the marrieds. They have a ton of activities for the singles.

    I just want to say a prayer right now for the singles:

    Father, I just thank You that Your word is so true. That You love us so much. I know that You love the single saints and I pray that after You’ve molded them into being the best that they can be, fully wise, patient, ready to learn, and most of committed to You and full of Your love with giving spirits…that You will give them discernment and Divine appointments to operate and live as a faithful spouse and parent in Jesus Name and by His Blood. Amen.

  2. Well, I agree, and I think your heart profound on the matter.

    Thanks for writing your heart. It’s what we do best as writers. No one else can write our story. Someone needs to hear this today. Thank you for being obedient to God’s prompting.

    Blessings and peace~elaine

Leave a Reply

