THE SAMARITAN WOMAN

John 4:16-18 He told her, “Go, call your husband and come back.” “I have no husband,” she replied. Jesus said to her, “You are right when you say you have no husband. The fact is, you have had five husbands, and the man you now have is not your husband. What you have just said is QUITE TRUE.

Very strange. Just imagine yourself having a conversation with a perfect stranger who suddenly asks you to go and call your husband. What would be your reaction? Yes, I am addressing this to you as a single person. Would you, like the Samaritan woman quickly respond or perhaps feel awkward that some stranger is intruding into your private affairs? Single people too have their own issues. Not long ago, I was also single. I went through it all; the heartache of a painful breakup, the cruelty and frustration of lacking reassurance while in a relationship. Once, someone told me after three years of friendship that I had imagined up our relationship. So more or less, if Jesus would have come at my well, my story would have as well replicated that of the Samaritan woman.

For many of us, single-hood is a state of constant expectation. When one year comes, we hope this one will work well for us and we will cross over to the other side of marital bliss. But as the year comes to a close, and with no signs of your expectation fulfilled, the desperation heightens. The Samaritan woman was one restless woman. She had knew the warmth of five husbands, yet for her it was too little too late. And while she had another to offer her that instant assurance, her heart was still unsettled, and JESUS KNEW IT.

You see, when you are going through those dark periods of self-doubt, wrong relationships or even anger towards the Lord for the delayed gratification, HE STILL IS THERE WITH YOU. He, more than anyone else knows the need that is in your heart for companionship. But He, not you will choose the time and place where He will come and meet you.

As the year comes to a close, will you let the Lord meet you at the well? What are you willing to acknowledge to Him about your painful and frustrating encounters? Do you desire for Him to still your heart so you will face the New Year with RENEWED HOPE, rather than misguided expectations?

As Jesus told the Samaritan woman, He will also say to you…YES, WHAT YOU HAVE SAID IS QUITE TRUE, BUT I AM THE TRUTH, THE WAY AND THE LIFE. Rest in Him and the rest will work out in His time. God bless you.

3 thoughts on “THE SAMARITAN WOMAN

  1. Hi Gladwell!

    My prayers for a husband began at the age of 10 years. I came from a dysfunctional home, but it was a good home. When my mom an dad weren’t throwing parties and being friends they were fighting and I used to cry and look out the window and ask God for a husband and a family. I promised Him that I would never fight my husband and I never did. We’ve been married twenty-eight years. It wasn’t easy but it was worth it!

    I actually forgot my orayer over time, but God did not. He never forgets…He always answer…but He does it His way. I like that about Him.

    If we do not talk…May you and your family have a meaningful, Blessed, incredible message on New Year’s eve as you grab hold of God’s vision for you and run with it! May your youth continue to be energized, May love abound in your home and family and may God’s grace back you as you carry forth His will. Peace and Love
    Lanie

    • Thank you so much Elaine. You have been my greatest inspiration as I started out on this blogging business. God brought you in my life for such a time as this. It’s wonderful to hear of your marriage testimony and I thank God that this far He has brought you. Whatever He still have in store for you as He says is ‘GOOD AND NOT EVIL, TO GIVE YOU A FUTURE AND HOPE’ and that includes many more married years and a happy family. BLESSED 2010.

  2. Great post. Boils down to Jesus being the only source to our happiness. We cannot force the “love” as we perceive it on anyone to gain the love we want in return.

    I especially like the rest in Him and the rest will work out in His time!!

    Thank you for sharing. Blessings and hugs.

Leave a Reply

